Shimatta しまった – I messed up

I was on the Shinkansen a few weeks ago coming back from Tokyo Haneda airport and in my boredom I was leafing through the free shopping magazine they have in the back of all the seats.  I was quite amused to find this picture of a man who has pee-d his pants.  It seems the advert is for some extra thick pants that will absorb any extra dribbles that you didn’t manage to shake off.  Or thinking about it more, perhaps it is aimed at older gentlemen who have lost the level of control they once enjoyed.

img_2391

I particularly like the guys remark: “Ah! Shimatta”.  I guess it would be best translated as “oh dear” or “oh! crap!” rather than the more literal “I messed up”.  Basically you would say Shimatta to express that you made some kind of mistake or something regrettable happened.  It is often added to the end of  sentence after a verb in ‘te’ form like this:

Pantsu ni shiko shiteshimatta – Oh dear I did a pee in my pants.

Kagi wo nakushiteshimatta – I unfortunately lost my key.

Myself I have a  light grey suit and I have to say I encountered this problem once or twice, not so much by random dribbles but from splashbacks around the ankles.  Needless to say I avoid wearing that suit now and will never buy another light coloured suit!  Nappy-pants are not the answer.

4 responses to “Shimatta しまった – I messed up

  1. thanks guy, just stumbled upon you via twitter and I like your site. I have been in Okinawa for 19 years now, and constantly have a need for more vocabulary.

  2. Thanks, actually i have been too busy to keep up with publishing one a day or even week, but perhaps I will check the stats and start posting again. Lord knows I have been learning a lot of new words lately.

  3. “Shimatta” common in anime. Particularly *Dragon Ball* where English fansubs used to translate it as “$-h-!-t”.

  4. Thanks for the explanation. I googled “Shimatta” after seeing it in a subway poster on pinktentacle: http://pinktentacle.com/2010/08/vintage-tokyo-subway-manner-posters/

Leave a Reply

